There are several considerations when contracting In-Home Care Service Providers.
New rules and regulations to consider when hiring an independent in-home personal caregivers in 2017
Note: Clients that hire caregivers through Home Plus Caregivers are NOT subject to the liabilities and license requirements listed below.
This agency assumes the responsibilities of vetting, training and scheduling of caregivers, provides the proper insurance, and meets the all California State license requirements.
Clients that choose to hire and manage non-agency caregivers ARE subject to the following conditions:
Homeowners insurance will not cover a caregiver in the event that they fall or injure themselves while working.
Clients are responsible for providing all supplies (gloves, masks, etc.)
Clients are responsible for training of proper safety protocols, including handling and lifting of patients.
Clients are responsible for checking references of the caregiver, getting them fingerprinted, and performing background checks. This will reduce the possibility of theft or abuse.
Clients are required to have a plan B backup coverage for the patient should the primary caregiver become ill or become unable to work for any reason.
Clients must provide the live-in caregiver 8 final weeks of residence in the event of termination or if the client passes away.
If an independent home care worker is paid more than $1600.00 per year, the client will be required to provide workman’s comp insurance and a 1099 form for that worker.
In order for an independent worker to qualify for a 1099 form, they will be required to work for 2 or more clients.
Under the current law, personal hygiene is not considered domestic care.
Live-in caregivers must have a minimum of 7 hours of uninterrupted sleep, and must be provided room and board.
Live-in caregivers must have relief of 2.5-3 hours per day, and cannot work more than 5 days per week.
If a caregiver works over 8 hours per day, additional hours worked beyond that are overtime.
If a caregiver works 8 hours, they must be allowed a lunch hour and a break.
An independent caregiver is required to have an HCO License with the State of California. To have the HCO license, you must have workman’s comp insurance, professional and general liability insurance for no less than $350,000.00.